A

Anonymous

Hello all.
Newbie here to the reefkeeping world. My hubby and I have successfully had a fish only tank for about a year and a half and have recently started a reef tank. The live rock has been in the tank for about a month now, and there are some funky things starting to make themselves known.
One little creature kind of disturbs me. There is a small hole in one piece of live rock, from which protrude a number of very thin and very, very long brown and white striped arms. These arms are smaller than the width of a human hair, yet stretch several inches. It's very active, whatever it is, and occassionally shoots out copious amounts of sand and gunk from its hole. Could someone please tell me what the heck that thing is? I've done lots of searches online using the above description, and in the course of my research have identified many other things that have hitchhiked their way into our tank, but I've not seen anything remotely resembling the description I've provided.

Many thanks!

Sherri J.
"Cakepro"

A

Anonymous

Well, I was unable to count how many arms there are...I am estimating that there are 8 or more. I just got a digital camera this morning, though, so give me a day or so on capturing and uploading an image of this thing. It kind of reminds me of an octopus of all things, but whatever kind of body that is radiating those arms is well hidden in the hole in the rock. It is able to bring back bits of sand and stuff into the hole -- not through retracting its arms, but rather by contractions along the length of the arms bringing material down into the hole. It doesn't appear that the arms get thicker promiximally.

Sherri J.
"Cakepro"

A

Anonymous

Cakepro,
Another Houstonian! I just moved here...