Wesley

Clownfish Pimp
Rating - 100%
45   0   0
There are different requirement for breeding different fish. Clownfish is one of the easiest. This post serve as an overview on each process. I think we can roughly break it down to 3 or 4 major categories to talk about.

1) Phytoplankton to feed rotifer and/or commercial Rotifer food to feed rotifer
2) Rotifer to feed larvae
3) Rearing tank and the related equipment such as air pump, light, sponge filter
4) Feeding procedure and technique

To raise larvae, you must have #1 & #2, the phytoplankton and rotifer culture, ready way ahead of time. Those 2 takes a couple of weeks to get a decent culture going.

If you want to read more, a book called Clownfishes - A guide to their captive care, breeding & Natural History by Joyce D. Wilkerson is highly recommended.

Last edited:

eazy al

onyxx owner
Rating - 100%
27   0   0
Yes ive been learning this for 3 yrs have knowledge of it I could actually have a conversation with a vreeder I could keep up .I live in a 1 bedroom with 11 pairs my girl & kid . Talking about no space lol!!! I have my rotifer culture going .and my main pair started laying 3 weeks ago its a 3.5 year old snowcasso from donisreef and a true c- quest onyx with semi Picasso markings im excited that they started laying this girl killed 2 males and hurt 3 she was a pain on the **** cord to pair up. Low on cash so im gonna have to do some mcgiver stuff to pull this of

Attachments

• 20131227_110819.jpg
    20131227_110819.jpg
    72.6 KB · Views: 735

eazy al

onyxx owner
Rating - 100%
27   0   0
2 years but could be sooner . depending on what is your choices of what exactly you wanna breed like if you are doing Picasso which is better in my opinion spend 120 tops for a onyx female adult or a regular 40 female percula and spend on a killer male with helmet but with good lineage saves time n money