meschaefer

One to Ignore
Rating - 100%
30   0   0
Calcium Reactor Set Up

There have recently been a number of threads regarding the set up of a calcium reactor, and I thought that there might be a need for a reference. I am by no means an expert on these things, having only started using one a few months ago, but I did a lot of research before I started using one and want to pass the information along.

Calcium Reactors, otherwise known as CaCO3/CO2 reactors, are essentially simple devices. Water is fed into a cylinder filled with media, usually aragonite, along with a controlled amount of carbon dioxide. The carbon dioxide lowers the PH of the water in the cylinder which causes the aragonite to dissolve releasing equal parts of calcium and alkalinity. This calcium and alkalinity rich water is then feed back into your tank replacing the calcium and alkalinity in your aquarium. The size of your calcium reactor will be dependent on the amount of clacium and alkalinity your tank requires, i.e. a 100 gallon tank of softies has a much different calcium and alkalnity need than a 100 gallon tank of SPS.

The calcium reactor has a number of essential parts. Obviously there is the cylinder where the media is placed (hereinafter the "reactor"). In order to get water to the reactor, a feed pump is used and a Maxijet seems to be a common choice. The amount of water flowing through the reactor and back into the tank is actually quite small, and on my reactor measures about 60 milliliters a minute. In order to control the amount of water leaving the reactor (the "effluent") you will need either a small ball or needle valve that will allow you to precisely control the flow of effluent. You want to but this on the output side of the rector as it will make it easier to get a constant flow. Most reactors have a second circulation pump that circulates the water in the reactor allowing the C02 to dissolve and the water to stay in contact with the media.

Calciumreactorcopy.jpg