Mal

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new at this. I have a 125 gallon tank setup for about 5-6 weeks. THe nitrates are at 20ppm and I can't get them down. I have been doing water changes, but it does not help.

We transfered 8 fish and 70lb of live rock from my son's 45 gallon. We have a sump with biobricks in it for reduction of nitrates. THe bio bricks are from the 45.

I want to set up a reef. how do you get the nitrates down?

danmhippo

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
A couple large water change will. What are you using for filtration? Skimmer? Are you using RODI? Are you feeding your tank heavily? Do you have DSB setup?

5-6 weeks is too early to tell if you are going to have steady high nitrate.

wade1

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It sounds like you may be using a great deal of high oxygenation filtration (ie- bioballs, filter floss, wet/dry) and feeding a great deal. That type of filtration allows for the conversion of ammonia->nitrite->nitrate, but stops there. If you have the above mentioned LR and deep sand bed, then you get nitrate to nitrogen gas conversion.

Wade

Mal

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My filtration is through the sump. The water comes down from the tank through drawers, into the sump. The top drawer is a filter pad, the next two have biobricks and Nitrex. The sump has a large protein skimmer. There is a second protein skimmer hanging on the tank. They are not prducing much waste.

I do not feed much. Some flake food twice a day. It is gone in 20 seconds.

I use all Reverse Osmosis water with 0 nitrates.

Io don't know what DSB is.

I have a 3" sand bed.

I was considering taking the biobricks out. Is that a good idea?

Thanks for the help

jamesw

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi there,