dudah

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have recently started a new 10 gal reef tank (see specs below). I used ls, lr, and water from an existing tank to start this tank. I am relatively new to reef tanks and have a few questions:

1. Is the 28w compact combo enough light to keep some clams and other light-needing corals?
  2. Considering that I have taken the lr, ls, and h20 from an existing tank, how long should I wait to put livestock in?

Thanks,

Dudah[/list]

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
  1. Is the 28w compact combo enough light to keep some clams and other light-needing corals?
  2. Considering that I have taken the lr, ls, and h20 from an existing tank, how long should I wait to put livestock in?

[/list][/quote]

1: It would be very hard to keep clams under 2.8w per gallon. Thery are some corals you can keep though.

2: Check your levels of nitrate, nitrite, and ammonia. They will tell you.

HTH

Brett

dudah

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks for the info!

What would you recommend in terms of watts/gallon for keeping clams?

Also I have been testing my water and so far it seems to be pretty good. I have noticed that a lot of water evaporates from my tank. I guess it is because of the low relative humidity in my house. I will have to work on a way around that...

Thanks again!

Dudah

Enzo

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm not sure of the specific needs of clams but keeping coral under certain lights is not just based on watts per gallon, I know a couple people that know nothing of keeping coral but have pulsing xenia's at the bottom of their tank and only getting about 1 or 2 watts per gallon, and I also know one person that knows more than the average hobbiest and he some how manages to keep a perfect pulsing xenia in a 1 watt/ gallon tank. I think if you maybe placed the clams on the highest rocks they might be fine. But I am not sure, just a thought.
]John

reefann

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0