Taz_Devil

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

Have keep a reef aquarium for 7 months now, previously had a FO system for 18 months so still learning.

Have been advised to post here and see if the guru's can ID this coral for me. I got it from an LFS a week ago and wondered if anyone had an idea on the family/species ?

I would have posted in the ID section but it seems that since I am brand new to reefs.org that I cant as yet. Mods feel free to move the post to the relevant area and apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Cheers

LPS600x450.jpg

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
:welcome:

I'm not expert, but I would guess it is a brain coral of some sort, possibly a maze brain.

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would say a pectinia lactuca.

But I too am no expert.

Looks healthy, good luck.

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Wazzel":29h7senz said:
Common name please.

For real? Isn't the problem using common names to identify corals?

But, if you insist, sure. I hearby name it flowering lettuce head in spring.

Now people everywhere will beg their LFS to check their stock lists for one.

;)

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
JustPhish":283hko9h said:
Wazzel":283hko9h said:
Common name please.

;)

Yes for real. I have a hard time remembering the latin names and there is no way I can spell them. Or give me a type of coral. Is it a type of brian, etc, etc.

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Wazzel":2n3j3crj said:
JustPhish":2n3j3crj said:
Wazzel":2n3j3crj said:
Common name please.

;)

Yes for real. I have a hard time remembering the latin names and there is no way I can spell them. Or give me a type of coral. Is it a type of brian, etc, etc.

Wazzel, I have only ever heard of this coral refered to as a pectinia, I think they are uncommon enough in the trade that they are not referred to by a common name.