• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

ncosper

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I figured I'd chime in to help a little before you message was lost to the 2nd page
icon_smile.gif
. I'm by no means an expert, but I'll give you some base info that I remember. They are not reefsafe along with all other non-pygmy angels. They also need a substantial portion of their diet in plant matter, Macro's, nori, etc. And they are solitary animals, not schooling with others. They also need a very large tank considering their adult size. Most likely if your asking if its reef safe, I would avoid the fish. Possibly go with a pygmy angel or if you have a large enough tank, ie 125+ you might want to try a tang.....

Len

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I assume you're referring to a Koran Angelfish (Pomacanthus semicirculatus). They range from the Indian Ocean (and all the way to the Red Sea) to the Indo-Pacific. P.semicirculatus is a bottom dweller that doesn't wander far from the substrate. As I remember, they feed on algae when they're juveniles, but as they mature, they'll consume sponges and corals. Keep in mind they get to about 18" long, so you'll need a monster of a tank to house one. I wouldn't consider them reefsafe, though, like P.asfur, it isn't completely impossible to keep one in a reef; it just depends on how much you're willing to gamble. My recommendation: unless you've got a 180+ galllon tank and don't mind lossing some LPS and soft corals, I'd avoid this species.

Len

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
BTW, they don't school. They're very aggressive towards congenors, and will rip apart any conspecifics. If you keep more two in one tank, you'll quickly have one dead Koran Angel.

Dragonlady

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Do you mean the Koran angelfish(Pomacanthus semicirculatus)? If so:
They are territorial and are omnivores.