a novice

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi!
First of all, I'm a beginner with marine tanks and I'm in the process of starting a 65 gallon FOWLR tank.
Origanally, I was going to stick with smaller(under 3 inches) beginner fish but then I found a niger triggerfish and fell in love. Here are my questions:
Is my tank large enough? Being that it's not a reef tank, there is quite a bit of open water that is unobstructed for swimming.
How big do they get? I've read everywhere from 6 to 14. Where I've read, they get to about 8 inches in captivity and 20 in the wild.
Aggressiveness? I've read that they are fairly aggressive which is one reason why I'm thinking of getting a black finned triggerfish. Supposedly, the black finned trigger fish is okay in a community tank. One problem, I can't find the black finned anywhere locally. I'm going to start looking mail order to see if they're even avialable.
If you could share your experiences with triggerfish or answer any of my questions it would great! Thanks so much!

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
IMO, a 65 gallon is not big enough for any trigger. The niger is one of the lesser aggressive triggers, so being with other fish shouldn't be a problem unless you're stocking with anthias and other peaceful fish. They do get fairly large, even in captivity. Plus, gallonage doesn't really matter as far as triggers go...it's all about having room to swim. I wouldn't put a trigger in anything less than a 75, and even that is a bit cramped when they get full grown, especially with other fish in the tank.

Hope this helps ya out.

Peace,

Chip

Picasso1

New Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0