mrfish

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
okay....after deciding what kind of lights i want...now we move onto the water chemistry
icon_wink.gif
I am just starting out with a 30gal tank so i was wondering if a RO unit was REALLY necessary? and the DI? I've read quite a few posts on this topic and it seems that many of you strongly recommend to get a RO/DI unit...because of the hair algae growth? (this is going to sound really stupid...but...isn't there a type of marine "pl*co"?) Thanks a bunch!
icon_smile.gif

JohnD

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Do yourself and your tank a favor, at least get a DI unit. The TWP is a good start. Your water needs will be modest with a 30 gallon tank, but if you upgrade, you will most likely want to get an RO unit. I just bought a 3-stage Dolphin from AquaFX and am very happy with the unit.

HTH

JohnD

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Do yourself and your tank a favor, at least get a DI unit. The TWP is a good start. Your water needs will be modest with a 30 gallon tank, but if you upgrade, you will most likely want to get an RO unit. I just bought a 3-stage Dolphin from AquaFX and am very happy with the unit.

HTH

fishfarmer

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It all depends on your water source and whats in it. If you know whats in your tap water, you make the decision. I've used well water without any noticable problems, but I do know whats in it and it is a reliable source. If using city tap, there usually is all sorts of "bad" things in it and it may change seosonally depending on what the water company flushes through the system. A tap water purifier(DI) whould be an excellent choice for your size system and you can increase the longevity of the resins by using an RO unit before it if needed.

Jrsydevi1

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
In my opinion, DI is a must, at minimum..